Calling All Night Owls! Century’s Longest Partial Lunar Eclipse is Tonight! #Inspiration #LunarEclipse

The century’s longest partial lunar eclipse will take place tonight (November 19, 2021).

Tonight’s partial lunar eclipse will last exactly 3 hours, 28 minutes, and 23 seconds, and 97% of the Moon will be covered in Earth’s shadow. NASA says it will be an almost total lunar eclipse.

This lunar eclipse will also be the longest partial lunar eclipse of the last 580 years. The eclipse can be seen from Oceania, the Americas, Eastern Asia, Northern Europe, and Indonesia. It will be visible from all 50 states in the US starting at 2:19am EST (11:19pm PST) and ending at 05:47am EST (1:47am PST).

It’s actually the longest partial lunar eclipse in a millennium, clocking in at 3 hours, 28 minutes and 23 seconds. There hasn’t been a longer partial lunar eclipse since February 18, 1440 (3 hours, 28 minutes, 46 seconds) and it will remain the longest partial lunar eclipse for 648 years until February 8, 2669 (3 hours, 30 minutes, and 2 seconds). There will be a longer total lunar eclipse on November 8, 2022.

Learn more on NASA.gov: https://moon.nasa.gov/news/168/an-almost-total-lunar-eclipse/

2 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s